Best New Songs: Daft Punk, Lil Durk, J. Cole

As the music week draws to a close, Hypebeast has rounded up the best designs for its latest installment The best new songs.

This week’s line-up includes Daft Punk, Lil Durk x J. Cole and Jorja Smith, each of whom has released an album Memories of Free Access (10th Anniversary Edition) and the singles “All My Life” and “Little Things”. This selection is also joined by Yung Gravy and bbno$, G Herbo, Jeremy Zucker, Sampa the Great, Jean Dawson, Tay Iwar with Twelve XII and Deante Hitchcock.

daft punk – Memories of Free Access (10th Anniversary Edition)

Daft Punk celebrates 10 years with their fourth and final studio album Random Access Memories with a special extended edition that includes nine previously unreleased tracks and the “final” Daft Punk song “Infinity Repeating (2013 Demo)” featuring Julian Casablancas and The Voidz.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Lil Durk x J. Cole – “All My Life”

Lil Durk and J. Cole team up for long-awaited ‘All My Life’ collaboration set to appear on the former’s upcoming album Almost cured. In an interview with Apple Music 1, Durkio called Cole a cornerstone and “the one I admired who conveys a positive message”, and named JAY-Z and Swizz Beatz. “Yeah, Swizz hooked me up with Hova so that’s how we started talking, you know what I’m saying? It’s just about relationships, energy and keeping the vibrations together, you know what I’m saying? shared.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Jorja Smith – “Little Things”

Jorja Smith shares her uplifting track “Little Things” coming shortly after April’s “Try Me”. The three-and-a-half-minute segment is the British singer’s way of reminding her listeners that we’re all unique and that we should be celebrated for our uniqueness and individuality.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Yung Gravy x bbno$ – “God is gracious”

Yung Gravy and bbno$ team up again for their latest collaborative single “Goodness Gracious”. The optimistic offer sets the stage for their upcoming album Sauce for children 3marking their third LP together and first in three years.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Deante Hitchcock- Once

Deante Hitchcock takes fans on an emotional journey around the birth of his son and his partner, Otto Saint Hitchcock, in a conceptual project Once. “At what was to be a turning point in my life, the world as we know it seemed to stop spinning completely. I watched our world change, and in the midst of it all, I gave birth to a son, became a father, and watched my world change,” he wrote in a statement. “The word ‘son’ feels damn ironic when you read it, like the sun in the sky I watched until it became an almost blinding reflective blue ball of light my son came into the world and brought a brightness to my life that could rival with his homophone. His mother and I are forever delighted and forever grateful for our angel, our saint. The story of how we got here is no fairytale, but I’ll try to tell you all about the best way I know of.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

G Herbo – “We Don’t Care”

Fresh from the premiere of his latest mixtape Strictly 4 of my fans 2, G Herbo provides an accompanying music video for “We Don’t Care”. The music video directed by Kevin Mares is a summary of the last few months of the rapper’s life and uses the most important moments of his career and intimate moments behind the scenes of his life.

Watch: YouTube

Jeremy Zucker – “OK”

Jeremy Zucker shares his introspective and emotionally charged new single “OK”, which the artist explains is about caring for and testing loved ones. “I wrote this song to connect with anyone who isn’t feeling well, to let them know I’m here. Everyone goes through something, and sometimes knowing that the person behind a song is there for you can be comforting and reassuring,” he said in a statement.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Sampa the Great – As Above So Below (Deluxe)

Sampa the Great presents a deluxe version of his latest studio album, As above, so below. The latest edition features seven special live versions of the tracks, recorded at ZNBC Studios in Lusaka. It evokes important characters from the albums such as Mag44, Emmanuel “Jagari” Chanda and James Sakala, and invites rising Zambian rapper Natasha Chansa and the iMitundu choir.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music


Jean Dawson presents the first part of his upcoming trilogy “XCAPE”, PT. 1 JEAN DAWSON AS “PHOENIX”. The project includes the double single “youth+ and “delusional world champion”, while the output is described as “deeply conceptual yet deeply confessing” and will “reveal the various cohesive and juxtaposed aspects that make up the multifaceted visionary and often mysterious Jean Dawson – both artist and man.”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Tay Iwar x Twelve XII – “Hidden Lover”

Tay Iwar teams up with emerging Nigerian singer-songwriter Twelve XII on their collaboration “Undercover Lover”, an intimate and slow track. “I wanted to create a song that captures the feeling of needing someone who is always there for you, even if it’s only for a moment. Undercover Lover is about finding comfort and pleasure in the arms of someone who understands you, even if it’s only temporary. The lyrics and melody perfectly capture the mood and I hope my fans will enjoy it,” Iwar said in a statement.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *